refuge

I decided today to visit a shop called Tomoca, where coffee is roasted and sold. Coffee is supposed to have originated in Ethiopia and there is a popular legend about a goatherd called Kaldi who noticed his goats skipping around after eating the berries from a coffee bush. He took some berries to a monastery but the chief monk threw them on the fire, thinking they were the work of the devil. The monastery filled with the heavenly smell of roasting beans and the monk took the beans out of the fire and covered them with water to preserve them. The rest is history.

Anyway, I walked for a mile or so only to be approached by the same young man who followed me home yesterday. I'm sure he was harmless and just wanted to chat, but but after 20 minutes or so I said goodbye and dived into the nearest coffee shop.

The cake was called 'White Forest'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.