Grumpy Old Git

By GrumpyOldGit

Wood Pigeon

Today was warmer than yesterday because of the heavy rain, during which this picture was taken of a Wood Pigeon on our bird table. You can get some idea of how wet it was from the water on the pigeon's back. Needless to say this was again taken through the kitchen window.

After I had taken this picture, but before it was blipped we lost our electrical power and about a second later we heard a loud bang from the local electricity substation. Loss of power here is not at all unusual so we have an ancient permanently installed ex farmhouse diesel generator, which can be switched in from inside the house. Thinking that the power would be off for a quite sometime we switched over to the generator so that Mrs GOG could continue with her marking and I could get on with what I was doing. However, when I went out to check that everything was okay with the generator I discovered that three of the four anti-vibration mounts had perished with age. The generator was shut down while I did temporary repairs to these, before restarting the generator; shortly after which the power was restored anyway. I now need to find a replacement for these ancient anti-vibration mounts to provide a permanent fix; yet another job!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.