A LONG OVERDUE CATCH-UP WITH A SPECIAL FRIEND

Since my special friend, Linda, moved to Cheltenham, we don’t see as much of each other as we used to or that we would like to.

A couple of weeks ago, Linda asked if we could meet before Christmas and today was the day we planned it.  We often meet in Cirencester, as it is about halfway for both of us, and today was no exception.  We met in “Made by Bob” and had lots to catch up on, so chatted for well over an hour, but then sadly, Linda had been asked to work this afternoon, so couldn’t stay for too much longer.

Linda is such a sweet person and said to me that she thought she would never be able to speak really good English, but I told her that the only word I could remember in Bulgarian was “Baklava” so she was doing much better than I was!  I also told her that not all English people could speak “good or proper” English, so she shouldn’t worry too much, which made her smile.

I had taken a photograph of Linda inside the café but then saw some pretty lights round the doorway of a nearby shop, so thought it would make a good frame for a photograph of her and she was wearing her Christmas jumper!  It is a very busy passageway up to the Corn Hall but people were very obliging and waited whilst I took photographs. 

On the way back to the car, I had a little mooch around in Cirencester, where there was an open-air Christmas Market, and several other shops that we don't have in Swindon, but ended up buying just one thing - which is not at all Christmassy - some HG Super Powerful Toilet Cleaner - just hope it works, because it was quite expensive!

Linda and I have agreed that we need to make an effort to see each other more regularly in 2019 - so guess that’s my first New Year Resolution!  I always enjoy meeting up with Linda and do miss our chats - so hopefully we will both be able to keep to that.

I don’t actually have a paper calendar for next year yet so found an old one in the cupboard that I made in 2013 after we had been to Switzerland to visit friends - and noticed that the 1st January in 2013 was on the same day as 1st January 2019.  Did you know that 2019 will have the same format as 2013?  I knew there was a reason I kept this old calendar - so I must get some dates with Linda on to my 2019/2013 calendar and since I hadn’t written on it in 2013, it will be a good way to recycle this lovely calendar.

I did actually pop into Barclays Bank in Cirencester and it was great to be served by an actual person rather than getting my money out of a machine!  I told the young lady, Ruby, how lovely it was to be served by her - and as she was wearing a headscarf, realised she probably wouldn’t be celebrating Christmas, which she confirmed, but I told her I was a Christian and then gave her one of my hearts, and said I would still like to bless her at Christmas - she was delighted and told me she would keep it!  It doesn’t take much to show someone appreciation.

Happiness is meeting an old friend
     after a long time…..
and feeling that
     nothing has changed.


P.S.  I have tried ringing the RSPCA several times today, but there was no response, so perhaps I need to go online to contact them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.