Verglas

The most lethal weather conditions I've ever encountered. Still feeling shitty, I delayed going out until the afternoon when there was predicted a decent chance of snow. 

Me: Alexa, will it snow today? (having cleared my chest and offered the best enunciation I could muster)
Alexa: There is a 46% chance at 1 pm. You can expect about 10mm.
Me: Get in.

I waited. Nothing. Not a flake. Not even a hint of sleet. I eventually left at 2 pm, it already having grown quite dark. There was light rain in the air. Freezing rain. I opened the door and my foot immediately skated away from me across the metal landing. Everything had been verglassed. 

It was very fortunate I was still holding the handle of the door. Each of my metal steps was covered in a transparent and utterly invisible layer of ice. I got down precariously and tried to walk up my path to the moor, hoping to get to the waterfall, but after falling three times within fifty yards, I gave up. There was no way. I've never seen anything quite like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.