Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Mondays with Margie

Margie is 92, clear-minded and sharp, living alone, still writing, reading, walking wherever she feels like walking, connected tenderly with her three adult children, loving her life. She gave up driving when she turned 91, feeling her reflexes had slowed, but she feels, she says, freer than she has ever been before. She still practices Tai Chi, something she has done for over 30 years, and she credits that and "good DNA" with keeping her upright.

"I love living alone, knowing my children have my back if I need them. I live at my own pace. I don't have to please anyone, I've quit cooking and just put simple things together when I'm hungry, and I go my own way. There's nobody impatiently holding a door open, waiting for me to zip my jacket, tapping their foot. I open the door myself when I'm good and ready. I can take a nap when I feel like it, meet a friend for coffee and stay as long as I like. I'm lucky, and I know I'm lucky. Each day is a surprise and a gift." 

I've blipped Margie a number of times. Click on the tag with her name if you'd like to look back at our friendship over the years.

We've decided to have a regular Monday coffee date. I'm loving it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.