Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Welcoming new friends

The big and active Uniting Church in town welcomed their new minister Tupe and his family.
He is Samoan and there were many Samoans present at his induction service from all over the state. Even a dance troop.

Here he is, dancing with other Samoans (in a white shirt) in front of his new congregation.
They were also invited to join the dancing, but the majority remained self consciously seated. It was a joyful, but an ever so slightly awkward moment.

I am sure they will relax into getting to know him and vice versa. My Miss C attends this church, so I have seen him around the edges of his ministry and I think he looks like a good choice for this church.
I hope so, and I am looking forward to working with him on our cross church ecumenical activities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.