Viktoria Modesta

Because I was in town recording vocals I was able to have a brief meeting over coffee at Cafe Boheme in Old Compton Street with the stylishly uber glam Victoria Modesta, I've been approached via an old friend of ours Mark to co-write a song with her, we were due to chat on the phone tomorrow prior to meeting to work on the track but as we were both in town today we were able to meet face to face which was wonderful, she is utterly charming and I'm really looking forward to hearing her initial ideas for the song.
Due to an accident during her birth she always had problems with her left leg and in 2007 she had a voluntary, below-the-knee leg amputation to improve her mobility and safeguard her future health.
Far from being hindered by her disability it has only enhanced her life, she performed in the Paralympic Closing Ceromony during Coldplay's set as The Snow Queen and just check out the bling on this prosthetic!!

I went into Soho today to record vocals for an Advert, as with most Advertising campaigns there are lots of people being recorded but I will tell you about it should any of my versions be used.
The studio is in the basement of Hammer House so called because Hammer Film Productions registered their company there in 1949, they didn't stay long as the 'noise in the night' disturbed other residents but the name stuck, spooky eh!?
The Producer Simon was so lovely and we had a long conversation about parenting and pschology after the session which was very interesting.

After another visit to the wonderful Museum of Curiosity in Bateman Street and a visit to Hotel Chocolat I headed for Liecester Square tube, as I walked down towards the platform there was a man begging, he had been severely burned all over his head and face and his eyes were red and weeping, it was an extremely shocking sight and the first time I've seen someone disfigured by fire in the flesh, I felt compelled to give him something, I went back with a five pound note and he reached out for it with two stumps, he had no hands! He said 'thanks love, it really helps me a lot' I wanted to ask him what had happened to him but I was just too upset, I cried on the tube and now I'm crying again thinking of what his life must be like, a most sobering encounter.

After the full on nature of the last 5 days I am having some time off, I need to recharge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.