Enola Gay

Today's the first day of my three-day vacation with Jill to Virginia. We planned on going to Kings Dominion today, but it was closed because of rain. The problem is there's no rain. D'oh! So we went to the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center near Washington Dulles airport.

It's an air and space museum that has lots of amazing things, including the Enola Gay, pictured. That B-29 dropped the first atomic bomb on Japan. It blew my mind that I got to see it in person. What a piece of terrifying history.

In extras are:

An Arado Ar 234 B-2 Blitz, the first jet-powered bomber, built by Nazi Germany. This is the only survivor.

A Concorde.

The space shuttle Discovery. This is actually my second time seeing this. I saw it in 2009 when it stopped in Amarillo, Texas, on the back of a plane as it made its way from landing in California back to Florida.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.