Nicky Price at BBC Radio Gloucestershire

Last week I had contact with Nicky's afternoon radio programme on BBC Radio Gloucestershire. She asked listeners to ring in with suggestions for the names of the singers featured on a particular song she was playing. The song was 'Do they know it's Christmas' by Band Aid and I had rather an advantage as I was also singing on the recording. The researcher soon contacted me again to ask me more about my involvement and then a bit later the presenter asked me if I'd be prepared to be interviewed about the recording of the song that eventful day – Sunday 25th November 1984.

I happily agreed and today I went to meet her at their Gloucester studios to pre-record an interview which she will edit into a later programme. Having sent her some background information and online links to video clips we had a brief chat, before the microphones were switched on. I rambled on for a short while and Nicky seemed happy with the results. Then I took this picture. Before we had met I had mentioned I'd probably like to take a picture to record the day for my Blip entry. She says the interview will be broadcast this next Thursday afternoon.

I should add that I had been part of the crew who filmed the whole recording of the song at what became Sarm Studios in Basing Street, Notting Hill. Midge Ure had asked Tattooist International, a collective of film cameramen and their freelance support teams, to help. They readily agreed do their bit, as they often did for many creative ventures and groups of aspiring filmmakers from many backgrounds. Tattooist had given me my start in the film business, particularly in the making of music videos at a time when MTV had just begun broadcasting.

On the day three film cameramen and three sound recordists did the front end work, and I was their assistant throughout the day, finding interesting scenes around the studio to film. One of the cameramen was Nic Knowland who had been John Lennon's cameraman when he'd made various personal films, as well as filming the iconic white room of the 'Imagine' video. Another of the cameraman was Roger Deakins, who won an Oscar for cinematography last year following his multiple earlier nominations.

I still feel very grateful for the chance to be able to help make this important moment in music history. I was standing beside the microphone when the ensemble of all the musicians was recording the various choruses of the song, and I was belting out the words too. It still means a lot to me when I hear the song repeated every year as it has become a standard. Sadly it looks like the reasons for making the song, to get money to help starving people have not gone away. World politics and the associated politicians have a lot to answer for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.