Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

From the bottom of the pool

I try very hard to maintain a reasonable level of fitness. I don't consider myself to be an athlete; with my frame the only thing I might be considered suitable for in sporting terms is darts or snooker, but I do make every effort to exercise regularly.

After Saturday's walk I wasn't up to anything energetic so the pool beckoned. I bought a GoPro camera while in the USA and had wanted to test out it's underwater abilities so took it with me.

I learnt a couple of things:

1) you need to use it in the daytime. I didn't so got speeds of about 1/7 sec, hence the rather soft focus.

2) Read the manual and set up the camera before you try to use it. Again I didn't and when you are trying to look at a read out window less than 1 cm square, in dim light you may as well give up. When we complain about too many controls on our cameras, just remember the GoPro has just two buttons, and they have to be used for all settings and modes.

Normal service will be resumed shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.