Holiday Thaime

After changing planes in Doha on the next leg I was trying to watch Crazy Rich Asians and the person in the window seat had a weak bladder, which interrupted my viewing. But I liked it and see why there was lots of hype when it was released.

Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi Airport is a behemoth and I was confused by the visa process. Various countries such as San Marino and Uzbekistan are advertised as 'visa on arrival', subject to various paperwork. I started doing all this paperwork and waiting around with the Uzbeks before realising that there's another cluster of countries who are deemed to be visa exempt, including European Union nations. Us lot are allowed to proceed straight to immigration, and checks are pretty minimal. We get a stamp stating the maximum length of stay, which I still interpret as a visa. But nothing like too much time spent in airports to start debating the semantics of visas.

The certain privileges of being a European Union passport holder. Yes. Large confusion about what to do at Suvarnabhumi. Also yes.

I hadn't slept due to the overnight journey, so relaxed for most of the afternoon. The hotel I booked is inexpensive but is in an area with a plethora of precious gem shops. I went for a mini-explore but will save most of the trotting around Bangkok for the coming days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.