The End of a Busy Day......

Yesterday was spent shopping for the ingredients to display my lamppost outside of my house.   Have to say I was rather surprised at the 50 and 60% sales off of Xmas decorations.   
    Michael's Arts and Crafts store was nearly wiped out.... Several shelves were empty.  I was able to get some garland that I can wrap around the lamppost. Then the hunt was on for bows and Santa beards......
but they were all gone.
     I never thought I would put my life in jeopardy by walking back to the car....  Despite the pedestrian laws for crossing in the correct zones, cars were ignoring the lines, stepped on the gas and zipped right by people already half way across the lane, way to close to the people trying to get across.
     Safely back to my car, I slowly backed out of the space only to be greeted by horns.  Cars wanted my space, and they were duking it out by trying to get the front of their car as close to mine and grab the spot as I left. It got so tight, I couldn't get out.   I put the car in park, got out, and just waited for the people to back off.  There was some nasty words, gestures and such but both of the cars backed up and left for another spot.  Once in my car, I quickly left and hoped for better at my next stop.....  Dollar General.
     Crossing the lane from the parking spot was pretty easy.  I was able to get a Santa's Hat that would hold up to the rain and weather here, but no beard.  Cars whizzed around the corner as several of us got together and made a wild but safe dash to our cars.
       Now the challenge......   to cross Route 200 and get to Hobby Lobby's.  The light was a help, but the cars who were running the red lights were numerous.  Gladly, the intersection was safely negotiated after a bit of patience.   Once in the store, I was able to artificial greens with pine cones that could be attached to the crossbar of the lamppost.  I will use some bonsai wire to attach the greenery safely and securely should there be any storm related  winter winds here.   All 3 stores were displaying empty shelves due to the discount sales.    Before this year, I don't remember seeing such sales, 7 to 10 days before the holiday.  Of course, I am not a fan of shopping, as my habbit is to avoid it at all costs.  Therefore, my impressions have to be taken with a grain of salt.
      Having gotten home safely, I need some walk time in the cold air with the girls.  The air was dry, very little breeze and the sun was going down.   The pictures for today caught the  slightly pink sky.   The deciduous trees have turn color, waiting to drop their leaves, as they sleep through the winter.  Then, the sun had just slipped behind and below the horizon, having that momentary flash of light as the earth turns.   After such a hectic and stressful day, it was absolutely wondrous to watch nature do her thing, reminding me that all is ok, and not to worry.  
 
Stop.....   watch.....  enjoy...... count your blessings........   and love on the girls!
      





5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.