horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Finally some Waxwings

They've been in Edinburgh for a while now in decent numbers, but I always seem to be in the wrong place, or not free to head to where they are, or simply make the wrong decision on where to go. Eight years ago, in our last full-on, long-lasting winter, they headed over from Scandinavia in massive numbers, and I got to see them for the first time. The numbers aren't as high as that, but there were a good 80 trilling in the trees above me, swooping down to the rowan berries alongside the main road.

I'd got myself out for some fresh air and light as I knew lunchtime was going to be taken up having lunch with the team and the head head head legal boss at work. We'd been given the okay after our Christmas lunch yesterday to come in late, but given Mel was getting up for work anyway, I'd just headed in at the usual time, so it didn't really feel like cheating. And at least gave me a bit of the day where I could switch off, after various little annoyances just built up. Waxwings will always put a smile on your face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.