Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Launch

A day mostly occupied with Christmas preparations. Despite having a cough, Pete accompanied me into Peterborough this morning to pick up Molly's present and a few other bits and pieces. It was raining quite heavily and I discovered that my favourite pair of boots has developed a crack in the sole, which meant that I rapidly got a damp sock.

We got everything done fairly quickly, and after a restorative cup of coffee, I headed out to the Rowing Lake. By this time the skies had cleared and there was brilliant sunshine. I spotted hazel catkins out along the river, making it feel quite springlike, even though it's still two days till the solstice. On my way back I disturbed this heron, and caught it just as it was becoming airborne.

In the afternoon Ben and I made some chocolates (some of which will be given away) - peanut pretzel knobblies, black forest truffles and creamy salted caramel fudge. The last of these was the most tricky - I haven't made fudge for a long time, and never on our induction hob, so initially the temperature was a bit high. Then the sugar thermometer  stopped working! Nevertheless, it all turned out OK, and looks very pretty decorated with dried raspberry and bronze sugar nuggets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.