Islaynder

By Islaynder

Model

I have a sort of Christmas box.  It's a big old cardboard box that I keep Christmassy stuff in and, as the event nears, I chuck in presents and... you know... stuff.  So as I'm heading off for the festive season on Friday I had a rummage this evening and found three things that I'd bought a few years ago that were forgotten about.  They're model "kits" made of steel - sort of like Airfix kits but made of...  

I'd bought one each for my Dad, my nephew and myself thinking that we'd have a "lads" night round the big table - having a dram or four and making our respective models up.  

Dad's is an old tractor (a little like he'd have known on the farm he grew up on) and nephew's is an army tank (he was army daft as a kid and is now a serving soldier - "Highlander Young" to give him his proper title - Dad would have been so proud!) and I got myself a helicopter (well, it was either that or the Eiffel Tower!).     

I'm SO looking forward to this Christmas get-away.  It's been a particularly awful year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.