Nuts

I made the mistake of watching PMQs at lunchtime. Some never learn.
 
A country of 66 million heading at great speed down a very narrow steep lane, with only 100 yards to make a decision before it careens off the cliff edge and yet the 650 appointed drivers are bickering about the setting on the radio.
 
I don’t like or trust Corbyn and I am pretty sure he did say “woman” but I do not believe he meant it in any misogynistic sense whatsoever. I would have wished he used a far stronger adjective combined with a much wider substantive that incorporates most of the 250 male Conservative MPs and quite a number of the 67 female Honorable Members.

Today I got 62 Brexit No Deal warning emails from @service.gov.uk listing the next truckloads of wheels that will fall off: from genetically modified organisms to "Plant variety rights and marketing of seed and propagating material if there's no Brexit deal"
 
Nuts, complete nuts. Talking of which, I lost mine today or at least forgot them.
 
I didn't get out today to buy the ingredients needed to make my first ever Mr Kipling’s mincemeat Brexit pies. Lunchtime PMQs had been softened by a few of yesterday’s lovely sausage rolls, But by evening needed to come up with something else.
 
When in the supermarket on Tuesday getting the bacon for the sausage roll mince, I spotted a box of items in the cooled shelves with several reduced items which had reached their “Best By” date. Food waste is something that constantly annoys me and I notice more and more that I grab such items where I know I can use them within a day or two. In a village like ours, I cannot think that items thrown away by the supermarket end up in a food bank or similar. One of the red-stickered packages was smoked salmon and although not a great fish fan nor a fan of Norwegian Aquaculture farming, the thought of such “Luxury” food being thrown away was too much to “stomach”. Just as yesterday's slippery UK Fisheries Minister's environment announcement.

 
So this evening had to find something to do with it. Luckily had an open bottle of white wine in the fridge which hadn’t been the best quaffing tipple I have tasted, one more onion, enough garlic and lemon substitute to whack together a sauce with some cream, crème Fraiche and even a dollop of cream cheese. The first job though was to lightly roast some pine nuts but having put them to one side while I did the rest, found myself constantly stealing a few to nibble. So moved the dish well out of reach and did the pasta and sauce.
 
When it was all complete, took a photo as I needed a Blip for the day but completely forgot the pine nuts! It’s not the only thing I have forgotten in the past few days. One of them was very important and I will try tomorrow to rectify my oversight. Very shameful but Brexit disease had caused it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.