Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Chicken Shack

The decorating is finished! We spent most of the day putting things back, cleaning and hanging pictures. We needed eggs so I nipped down to the smallholding just outside the village where I always buy them, and where I grabbed this shot on my phone. The two ladies run it as part of the British Hen Welfare Trust, and have rehomed many hundreds of ex-battery hens since they opened. Although it isn't clear on the shot, the hen nearest has a twisted beak, a deformity apparently common in battery hens; I can only imagine why. They are gradually filing it for her so that eventually it will grow straight.

As well as hens eggs I wanted two duck eggs but apparently the ducks are freeloading at the moment and they only had one! I was also pleased to see, given the time of year, that Elvis the turkey was still alive and well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.