Mecha

By Mecha

Steve McCurry

....A cheats blip I know, but it's this or the cats again!

At the weekend, I went to a Guardian Masterclass talk with Steve McCurry. It was amazing, fantastic and more. He was supposed to talk for only 45 minutes but ended talking for nearly 2 hours. Time has never gone so quickly for me. I was completely engrossed and absorbed. Hearing him talk about the images we know so much of and with so much humility, humour and dignity. Here he is, a living photographic legend in front of me - it was captivating. Something I will never forget.


If for some reason you don't know his work, please look him up, it will be worth your time

I dont' know what else to say, but to maybe give you some quotes from the seminar:


"If I was starting out I would still do it (photo journalism) some people just have to do it!"

"I'm as enthusiastic and passionate as I've ever been. I want to die like Richard Avedon, on assignment!"

"Colour becomes too much information, it gets in the way of the story. I never thought of myself as a colour photographer."

"I rarely shoot on a sunny day. It's just the way I see the world, I guess. I like dark, overcast days. And rain."

"I think it's great that everybody can take pictures now. Great pictures are being made with cellphones. Bring 'em on!"

BUT THE BEST QUOTE HE HAS GIVEN:

"Photography to me has been a way for me to make my way in the world - it's like breathing or eating."





This is the book he signed for me after his talk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.