In Search of The Dissident

I'd been hunting it for a couple of months, but I was away in Virginia when it was last sighted in these parts. Following a hot tip from Michael the Beerman, Cynthia and I drove 25 miles out towards Mt. Baker this morning.

In the hamlet of Maple Falls, I found the cave that Michael had told me about. I approached it slowly, and took a few tentative steps inside. My long quest was over! Standing docilely on the shelves were nine bottles. I brought five home, and will have no trouble finding people to provide good homes for the remainder.

After the hunt was over, we went to Thompson Creek, the place where I got some good salmon photos and videos three years ago, but didn't see any fish today.

It was a very enjoyable, spontaneous day out. The sun struggled to break through the clouds and mist and succeeded some of the time. We didn't get all the way to the ski area at Mt. Baker -- it's 60 miles from the freeway -- but we'd gained enough altitude to feel a distinct drop in temperature.


See Cynthia's account of our trip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.