Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Common or Garden Dragons

A while back, I visited the Upfront Gallery to see their art (and to eat their tasty dairy free cake). Heading to the toilets I noticed a picture. I was fascinated. It was a beautiful botanical illustration of garden and hedgerow plants in winter.

Then I started reading the descriptions and looking closer. This picture wasn't about the plants in it, it was about the tiny dragons hidden therein. That was it. I didn't care about the price tag! I had to have it! There was a problem though. One tiny red dot that meant it was sold.

I've kept an eye on the artist, Margaret Walty's website since then. The last time I checked there was an entire section of the Common or Garden Dragons and she was selling prints! Well that was that. I just had to have one.

Whilst in correspondence with Margaret she mentioned that we could visit her studio, it was too far for me to travel to from Edinburgh but handily it was on one of the alternative routes down to England.

Today, having decide where the one I bought previously was to be hung, and having decided I needed a second for balance, we set off for home, via her studio.

I could have bought so many peices, they were stunning! She's working on some new ones that I love too. After a lot of thought I have selected another to go with my first. I also found this cute little dragon and just had to have him too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.