Sally Hart

By rosiecatwoman

Light in the Cloisters

Lovely sunny skies here today, so good time to go in the Cathedral cloisters while the low light shines into them.
The extra : this good woman was describing to someone how the decoration she is working on gets hoisted into the roof when she's done. The Cathedral was a hive of flower arranging activity for Xmas 

The Solstice Stone
'All were locked in me,
Silence and darkness,
I was a thing of winter,
Hollowed, I might lodge a skull,
I was barrenness,
I was the block rejected by masons, carver
shaper of querns'.

A star unlocked the stone,
the stone was a white rose,
it was a dove,
it was a harp with a hundred carols,
it was a cornstalk,,
it was a candle at sunset,
it was a fountain, cluster of arches,

On that stone lie the loaves and the cup.

George Mackay Brown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.