Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie sees a squirrel

Bike

The doorbell went very early (8.20am is very early for us!) causing Archie to leap off the bed, like a crazed wild dog, barking like crazy. I didn’t leap out of bed, but struggled to stagger to door to see what was going on. Fortunately JR had already answered the door, albeit in her dressing gown. It was a delivery of a sink vanity unit for the new bathroom. We had no idea it'd be delivered so soon, as when we ordered it a couple of days ago, it was 'Out of Stock' and they warned us not to even engage a builder before we had delivery of the item, in case of hold ups.

It was on a big pallet (though not as big as yesterday's one!) and it would not fit through the gate. And so we had to take it apart and manoeuvre the two boxes through the gate. TWO pallets now to dispose of now! But no worries - I have a solution...

Jordan had mentioned yesterday that he wanted a 'reciprocating saw'. I'd never heard of them, but I’ve realised that They're Just What I Need! So I'm getting one for my Christmas - I’d rather have that than lunch out (though I got both...)

Elizabeth took Archie out for the afternoon (photo by Elizabeth) and I met JR in Bruntsfield for a snack lunch at Montpelier’s. Elizabeth stayed for supper dinner tea an evening meal, when she brought Archie home, much to his delight. We had a very tasty Beef in Guinness casserole. Followed by Eton Mess. Yum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.