Rodents rule

By squirk

Scrambling brambling (aka blurred bird)

This is what happens when I grab my camera from the bag and press "snap" and then the camera chugs away because the dial has moved at some point on the journey to Inverness and it's in an obscure mode.

Beyond the sticks the lens has so kindly focussed on is a brambling. I was quite excited to see it.

Fred and I arrived in Inverness this morning on the sleeper, which Fred has renamed the "awaker" as he woke up a few times in the night. At one point around 3am there was an almighty lurch. We both thought the train had hit something as it had stopped so suddenly. But then we saw we were at Edinburgh station. It wasn't the shunting as that happened about ten minutes later. Grrr. I fell back to sleep then woke up at Kingussie when it dawned on us that there was a medical emergency in our carriage. I hope the chap who was taken away by ambulance is OK. My thoughts were with him through the day. 

We arrived in Inverness thankful for our health and for a stress-free mode of transport that got us to our destination in good time. I feel for the folk affected by the pesky drones at Gatwick and those suffering from the train strikes in the south-west. 

Back at Bellfield, we checked out the house (all super-duper) then went for a walk around the Islands, where I spied the brambling. We met Mum and Rory for a cuppa at the new café on Baron Taylor Street. I think it's called The Beagle and Bean – it's a dog-friendly eaterie. We met a lovely wee puppy called Lola.

Fred wisely headed away from the shops after a blether with my auntie Sheena. I accompanied Mum and Rory into the throng, where mum bought me a Christmas top and I sneakily bought her a Christmas hat while she was trying something on. Presents sorted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.