But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Little Donkey.

Since my last Blip entry, there has been too much (including photography) in my life for it to accommodate Blipping. It culminated with me spending the last week proving the influenza vaccine served out to OAPs isn’t very reliable though, as Jnr pointed out, it only seems to have actually failed me in three out of the last ten years. In reality, had I refused the vaccine on the other seven, my own natural immunity might have provided sufficient protection. One of the problems of having only one lifetime is that one doesn’t have the opportunity to run personal randomized double-blind trials. The crisis in the disease’s course arrived at 1 a.m. this morning with me waking up feeling reasonably o.k: being able to cough and blow my nose without suffering a seizure of apoplectic proportions and walk a few gentle steps without becoming breathless; so I left the safety of my fireside chair, turned the fire off and went to bed and slept there for the first time for several days.
 
After having the unaccustomed pleasures of a tolerable night’s sleep followed by a modest breakfast, we delivered the film and ice-creams to the cinema in preparation for Sunday’s family film (Ratatouile) and went for lunch at the garden emporium; I say lunch, I had soup and a roll but found the soup to be excessively salty so left it - and the buttered roll served my purpose adequately. The full size donkeys that have been there in previous years seem to have been pensioned off and replaced by a miniature pairing named Rebecca and Penelope. They didn’t seem keen on all the fussing that the small children had on offer and preferred to go an stand next to an adult who would just leave them alone, though they would tolerate a gentle scratch behind the ear if it was on offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.