Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The littlest grandson visits

First, thank you for the thoughtful, deeply empathetic, wise comments yesterday. This is a gathering of kind spirits, this community.

Today a wonderful bodyworker who specializes in trauma release came to the care facility to treat Donna, and it was a helpful, solid beginning. Donna and Kelley connected, Kelley used her good skills and left Donna with some exercises, and Sylvia, Donna's mother, was very happy about the whole process. Sylvia whispered to me, "For the first time since this whole thing started, I feel like Donna is getting real help." 

Just as I was leaving and had my coat on, Donna's middle son arrived with his family, including little Garland, and Donna was able to hold the baby with her right hand and wrap her unresponsive left arm around him. She was worried that she wouldn't be able to hold him if he tried to wriggle loose, but little Garland seemed very happy on her lap, only curious about the woman in the coat with the funny black toy. 

I loved seeing the joy in Donna's face as children filled her room. Earlier in the day Sylvia and I had wrapped presents for all the family while Donna filled little stockings with candy. I think she'll have a stream of loving company between now and when I go to see her again on the 26th.

Extra: glorious dawn from my bedroom window on the morning after the solstice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.