JustSally

By JustSally

Foreign friends

People come from miles around to this little shop in our village because they have such an extensive range of cake decoration equipment and party fare. They have decorations, icing, candles, edible sparkles, special shaped tins for hire, cake boards and many other things (which I would probably remember if I was a cake decorating enthusiast, but I'm not!) Their window always looks attractive and is now especially so for Christmas.

I was in the village to post my sister's birthday present and also a parcel for Germany. On our first holiday abroad, in 1963 in Italy, we made friends with a German couple called Susan and Juergen. We have kept in touch ever since - Susan is a brilliant letter writer and she writes in English. Now we communicate by email, and I think Susan follows me on blipfoto! They have visited us here and we have been to see them in Frankfurt. Maybe we should get together again next year, the 50th anniversary of our meeting?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.