Xmas Vanocka

At this time each year Paladian makes Czech Christmas bread which we only refer to as vanocka. It is similar to Polish chałka, Hungarian fonott kalacs, and other Eastern European egg-twist breads. Traditionally, this loaf is made of three braids of decreasing size placed one on top of the other. It is absolutely delicious.

The reason I have been silent on blip these last 6 days is that I have been in China.  Of course the Internet is available, but sites like Google, Gmail etc and social media like Facebook are blocked, even Facebook Messenger and YouTube. I could view Blip but could not post a photo or make a comment. I was amazed that Blip was partially blocked and reduced to looking only. 

I was not prepared to go to the expense of getting a VPN for the visiting days, so my only means of simple communication was text messages. I did find this high degree of control rather excessive. However it is a fantastic place to visit and I will be putting up my 5 back blips from Shanghai in the next day or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.