OldTimer

By OldTimer

Wind turbine

Great day out to my sons Bach down at Lake Mahinarangi. The boys went down to stay for a holiday Bradley and a friend to the family one and Cameron to the one next door that he has purchased. Simple beaches but all they need. Cameron’s one he purchased fully furnished in immaculate condition
My daughter in law took me driving way high up on a gravel road to see the views and the wind turbines most impressive. I like this shot best of a single one. We visited a isolated old cemetery dating back to the 1860’s when the people went thataway to the goldfields.
Found a name I am sure will find is part of the family tree. Jeremiah Callaghan aged 40 1866. Can’t wait to research it, my great grandfather came out from Ireland about then and his name to was Jeramiah Henry from Mallow in County Cork so am wondering if perhaps they were cousins. Can’t wait to get my sister on the job researching it. She had done a whole history book on the family.
All in all it was a fabulous day finished of with whitebait for tea and then the long drive home. Went down one way and back another so covered some new and fascinating ground

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.