Adventure Time

Boxing Day really did nearly turn into Boxing Day.

Ruby has wanted to go to the beach for a few days so this afternoon I headed off with her and the dogs to Seacliff. Busier than usual but lovely weather and a grand time was being had. Until the wee Pug got attacked by another dog. The owner of the other dog watched as his large mutt jumped on the wee man and bit into his neck. So, I legged it over there with Ruby just behind and shouted at his dog, stupidly I may have said "Fuck Off" in a very loud voice but it did the trick and his dog let go and sat down looking at me for the next instruction.

These things happen. The Pug was shook up but I couldn't see any blood. So, I looked at the other guy for the first time. It was occurring to me that he looked like a caricature of a retired old Edwardian Army Major when he told me off for my language and said there was no excuse for it in a civilised society. Blood starting to simmer, I politely pointed out that he was watching his dog attack mine at his feet and should have intervened before me. He informed me it was normal canine behaviour and that there really was no excuse for swearing. To my credit, I think, I didn't tell him to fuck off. I did wish him a happy Boxing Day and told him I'd better trot on before I said something else I'd regret.

A hundred yards later a lady, his wife it transpired, came over to me to apologise. She said I did the right thing and the dog needed speaking to firmly, in fact her husband knew it shouldn't be off the lead around other dogs. I apologised to her for swearing at her dog (how daft is that) and she told me not to worry, it was understandable.

On the way home Ruby (who was more upset than the Pug I think) was  writing a text to Joseph to tell him what had happened. I obviously asked if I could come over as a class war hero fighting for the rights of the wee man rather than a mad bloke who swears at aggressive dogs. 

As always in these situations, it's not the dog to blame. Once I spoke firmly to it (and admittedly used a bad word) it dropped the pug and sat down. It was the entitled prick of an owner that was the problem. His wife didn't have to come over to apologise but I get the impression it wasn't the first time that had happened and her husband knew that. 

Anyhow, that's enough excitement for one day. The sofa beckons.
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.