The Severn

The River Severn is running high and quickly at Bewdley.  I haven't seen it like that for some time.

We passed through the town and over the River again today on our way to pick up my sister as we were going out for lunch, taking Mom and Dad with us.  Mo started off reasonably well but the pub we went to was rather full and noisy so she quickly became very unsettled and ate very little apart from her chocolate and cranberry brownie.  My sister doesn't see Mom and Dad very much at all these days and she managed about 5 minutes of looking after Mom before she was wandering out to have a cigarette.  (Sister, not Mom!)  Dad is very unsteady on his feet these days and at one point both sister and SHH wandered off leaving me hanging on to Mom and Dad while they were trying to negotiate some steps.  I got a bit frustrated...

I did enjoy my meal though - it was very good value  - £20 for 3 courses and we were in a very atmospheric tepee extension to the pub.  My double lamb chop was particularly good.

All I need to do now is accept once and for all that I am not going to get any help from anywhere else when it comes to giving Mom and Dad the support they need... Seems to be the way of things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.