Twig Lichens

The six of us took a walk on Keston Common, a mixed area of woodland and open grass with some ponds and bogs. My bother and I used to play hide & seek in the woods at the West Wickham end with Grandma, my dad’s mum. She would never hide her eyes and count, for fear of losing us! We used to get quite frustrated that she wouldn’t play ‘properly’, but of course I understand her angst and remember her fondly for it now.

Today was grey, the sky blank, and so I focused on the smaller organisms; the fungi and the lichens. Thanks to some new lichen id cards from the Field Studies Council, I believe the above two are Parmotrema perlatum and Evernia prunastri.

This afternoon we had some more laughs playing games with Mum & Dad before it was time to drive home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.