Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2018 Monday — 9th Blip Birthday

My 9th, no! 10th Blipfoto Birthday is a delightful event for me. To my knowledge I have not missed one day, but many have been “backblipped” as is this one, and some “pre-Blip” photos have been added so that now my Blip Birthday has arrived before my original date of January 5.

I’ve been here since 2009, no! 2008, which seems like yesterday. When I first started blipping I was always doing so from my computer, usually a laptop. For years now I have been uploading from my smartphone. Sometimes doing it one-handed (with my left hand, and I’m not left-handed, but my right hand is being used to scratch Mr. Fun’s back while we sit in bed at the end of our evening).

The first three years in Blipland found me completely obsessed, addicted, and consumed with my love for blipping and connecting with people around the world. The world was decreasing in size exponentially as I met more and more of you on your pages and conversed via comments. I was fascinated and mesmerized; I spent my days looking for a photo moment with every step I took. I spent my evenings reading your page and commenting on what you had posted. Then I somehow slowly began to realize my isolation and that many other things were happening in my life and they too needed my attention. So I consciously worked on curbing my addiction without ending my daily habit. It was a balancing act that took serious concentration. Mostly, I had to stop commenting so I could accomplish other things. I love the Blip community, so pulling out of the conversation was difficult.

This is the nicest community of any social media that I am aware of. Blippers are a unique breed. I love this breed. Thank you to the two, three, half dozen of you who pen words of encouragement on my page from time-to-time. Your words are treasures to me.

I visualize this whole blipping thing as a big globe with a ribbon floating in a circle around the globe’s middle and the ribbon rotates around the globe once every 24 hours and once a day I get to reach out and pin my photo and story on that ribbon and then it rotates around the globe and then another 24 hours I’m doing it again. Crazy image but it works for me.

So that’s my Blipfoto story.

My photo today is my little great-granddaughter Jade opening her gift — every day in December I have gifted her with a book. I call it “The Merry Month of December Book Parade.” We want her to fall in love with books and reading so we’ve gifted her (and her big brother Tristan) with a book a day for this twelfth month.

From Southern California
(but soon we’ll be heading to California’s Central Coast for my winter recess),
Merry Christmas,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.