Gardenia

When we went to the Garden Shop yesterday, S and I bought a Gardenia to be put into a pot on the deck. It awaits repotting, which meant that I could easily put it into a place where I could take a photo for my blip.

Had I been more alert before we left daughter C's home this evening, after I'd weeded and planted in the garden bed on the other side of the steps to the front door, I could have taken a photo of the daisies. Perhaps I prefer this one, anyway.

A couple of days ago, my extra photo was of a small scale sticker version of one of the "Local Thoughts" from 2014, when the large ones were being posted around the central city and city fringe. I decided to check where Trollz-B-Trollin (the creator of the stickers) had got his words. I found that the particular phrase 'If the people lead, the leaders will follow' is being attributed to Mahatma Gandhi, without any actual citation of place or time. So I looked further and found that in 1857 the author of Histoire Contemporaire, reported that Alexandre Auguste Ledru-Rollin, one of the chief instigators of the 1848 revolution said when trying to force his way through a mob in Paris "Eh! Je suis leur chef, il faillat bien les suivre" or "Ah well! I am their leader, I really should be following them". 

Furthermore, Bonar Law who was Prime Minister of Britain 1922-1923 is reputed (E.T. Raymond in 'Mr Balfour') to have said "I must follow them; I am their leader.

All very interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.