Lions Fountain (Baeza) in Fog

We took a bus to Baeza at 1:30 p.m. and as we walked the kilometer into town it was already raining and very foggy. The rain stayed very light and even stopped at times, but the mist remained.

I absolutely wanted a misty blip (I think absolutely my first). This is not superb, but it shows Baeza's important Plaza del Populo, with its Lion's Fountain. It's "built with antique remains" according to our Michelin guide, although obviously far inferior to the lion fountain in Granada's Alhambra. The building in the background suggests the Renaissance character of the architecture in the town.

Ubeda and Baeza are World Heritage Sites, in recognition of their wonderfully preserved renaissance architecture. We visited over a half-dozen interior cloisters and courtyards with classically renaissance architecture. (It took me back to my first visit to Florence in the early 1960's, when I was impressed by Santo Spirito, which for me is the renaissance style church.) Here's the Wiki article on Ubeda and Baeza's is here. Having visited both--all too briefly--we prefer Ubeda, but together they are wonderful.

Tomorrow we return to Madrid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.