Homestead

Up at sparrowfart again!! It's so dark. This time to take son#2 to the airport and he has now joined Simone and Esme in Bristol before they begin their long journey home to New Zealand. What a treat to see them, such a special time and although I felt sad to see him go, I know it won't be too long before we see them again - this time in their home territory! 

On the way home I stopped at this little place, I've always admired its position, embraced by that tall tree. I had a look around and just as I was climbing over the gate leaving, a car drew up. Oh heck! Red handed! Yes, it turns out that his family own this place and he was wondering what I was up to. I came clean and gushed about old houses and photography and he was delightful. I got all the info. Built around 1890, it had been lived in his grandfather (or possibly his great grandfather) who married a Welsh widow, moved to Wales and became a miner then returned in the 1920s to retire. The last occupant had died about 3 years ago and the place has been empty ever since. There's no water or electricity but he had a lovely strawberry patch. Always worth stopping for a chat.

Back home, son#1 is the last man remaining and we went for a walk around Tra Ruaim headland - a luminous silvery light and so warm. Christmas cake a game of scrabble and maybe a film before he returns tomorrow - yes, another early morning. Then it will be very quiet indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.