Border Tails

By Swannie

My shed’s got a hole in it!

On Christmas morning, after I had my long lie, it was daylight when I got up, for the first time in ages. I had noticed a dark patch on the top of my shed roof a couple of weeks ago and thought it was moss, perhaps dropped by the birds, but I could now see that it was actually a hole in the felt.

Today, I got around to asking on the local Facebook group for recommendations for someone who could re-felt the whole shed. A few people mentioned Borders Handyman Services, so I gave them a ring when I got home. The boss appeared an hour later, looked at the shed and at the photo I had taken before the sun set, and explained that the felt had probably been stretched a bit tight and had split due to the expansion of the wood. There was nothing actually wrong with the felt, so he is going to come back on Monday morning and fit a strip along the top to make it watereproof again.

His business card says “no job is too small for us”, so I can see me becoming a regular customer. I need someone to do my gutters and also I’m thinking about getting my hall and stairs painted at some point.

The only picture I had taken today was the snap of the shed roof, so here it is!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.