Pennsylvania Capitol

We stopped in Harrisburg (the capital of Pennsylvania)  on our way home and went to the U.S. Civil War Museum which was very interesting.  My husband is fascinated by the Civil War and is currently reading "Team of Rivals" so he was very enthusiastic about visiting.   I had heard that the Pennsylvania State Capitol is the most beautiful state capitol building in the country so I wanted to see it.  We were not disappointed.  It is absolutely gorgeous.  

This picture is of the General Assembly chamber (please view in large). Pennsylvania also has the 2nd largest state legislature in the country, next to New Hampshire.  I have included a few more shots in the extras.  I tried to get directly under the dome but there was a Christmas tree in that area so you will see I am a little off center with my shot.  

My other extras include the Senate Chamber, and the stained glass dome in the Supreme Court (also off center because I had limited access). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.