Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

A bottle full of silence.

Nick and the children have been away for the weekend staying with his parents in Dunblane. The idea was that I would remain at home to concentrate on some college work. In reality I have just been laying on the bed trying not to move too much as my back is still really sore, with some kind of tummy upset to add to the growing frustration. It would be easy to lie here feeling sorry for myself - finally I have the space and uninterrupted quiet to fill with whatever I choose and all I can do is lie here wishing I could ring a little bell for service. But in truth I am LOVING the silence and the way my thoughts are flying all over, being able to gaze directly up through the window to the sky and reading without feeling I should be doing something else. You can't see it, but this bottle is full of nothing but the loudest silence you ever did hear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.