Hey! This isn't a bird!

The eastern gray squirrel is not exactly what I had in mind when I set my bird feeders up to view from my front bay window. I am getting a good amount of birds but this little guy keeps coming back and scaring them away!
The squirrels around here have a very high tolerance for humans so they are not easily discouraged from coming close to the house. I decided to grab my camera and watch this guy for a while this morning and it was amazing how he never stopped 'working' to get at that bird food!! I was exhausted just watching him! They are one of very few species that can descend head first from a tree or in this case, my birdfeeder. I did get a good blip out of it so I let him do his thing for today. It has been unusually warm the past couple of days with today being 70 F. I'm thinking if it had been colder he probably wouldn't be out and about as much. Hopefully for the birds sake, it will be cooler tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.