A Branch Structure......

   My Shimpaku had some scale on the lower 2 branches .   The insect was sucking on the juices, therefore the life, out of my Shimpaku Juniper, an evergreen.  I am sure almost everyone has seen this green shrub growing as landscape, in the forests, at nurseries .
      In order to preserve my bonsai tree, I could either spray it with lots of chemicals or I could cut the branches  off that had all the scale bugs.  I chose to cut off the branches.  It had the most beautiful twisted and bent directions.       With the help of some bonsai wire, I have wired them together  and hung them on my bathroom wall.  I have to find out how to preserve the branch.  It is just too lovely to be thrown out.
    In the meantime, I will grow out  new branches on the Shimpaku.  It will be time to do some major restyling on the tree in February.  In the meantime it can recover from the bugs, get strong, and rest through the cooler temps here.   I put a picture of the Shimpaku in the extra's.  You can see the hole where the branches came from.  One was off the front and the other from the back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.