Here There Be Dragons

Quite the adventure on the Indonesian island of Komodo today.  We set off on a trek through the jungle with two guides armed with forked sticks in search of the famous Komodo Dragons.  It wasn't long before we found one resting quietly.  She wasn't too scarily huge, and didn't seem to mind us taking her photo.  For about an hour after that, we only saw trees and a few birds.  I was beginning to think that our adventure was going to be a bit of a letdown, but then we rounded a curve on the trail, and suddenly there were five large adults and three young ones all loitering together under some trees.  One of the adults started hissing menacingly at another adult, and suddenly there was a scuffle and one chased the other off.  We had been told to stay together as a group, and to keep behind the guys with the pointy sticks.  Believe me, I was right behind him!  Suddenly one of the other guides shouted to me "Madam!  Watch out!"  A youngish dragon had crept up behind me and was only about four feet away!  I just about jumped out of my skin!  After that, I decided I wasn't going to rely 100% on the "armed guards!"  Here is one of the dragons, complete with drool.  Ick.  Extra shows the little so and so who was eyeing me up for a snack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.