BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Love Letters

I can imagine these words
beginning life as a gut feeling
then rising up
through the butterflies in the stomach,
passing the beating heart,
entering the throat
then bursting out,
unstoppable,
a sudden realisation voiced
that takes them both by surprise:
I love you, I love you.


If this was a predictable rom com
he’d follow that by going down on one knee
and asking her to marry him.


But here they are, in solid form,
big white love letters;
a graffiti no one should object to:
I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU
- a reasonably grand gesture,
a passionate message for someone
(put there overnight?)
that took a little while to write.
Now it’s there for us all to see
each time we take a walk
past the dunes towards the sea.
I don’t mind if it remains there permanently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.