Peace and Goodwill

Surfacing from underneath the weeds this little grebe or dabchick was diving happily at Cannop Ponds in the Forest of Dean this afternoon. Happily, I would say that is, until I had an issue with Tilly on the muddy lake side with innocent looking dogs walking in the opposite direction, at which point then it decided to scoot. I would have too if I could.

However I did have a hideous encounter with a family who more or less accused me of animal cruelty but didn't actually have the balls to say their thoughts face to face. For those of you who don't know, Tilly 2 years ago had an eye operation costing thousands as she wasn't insured, moving her mouth saliva ducts up to her eye sockets as she had dry eye and they thought this was the best solution. It wasn't! She has far more horrid problems now and I think her protection of me and dislike of other dogs comes from her really bad vision. After ignoring all the whispers, looks and utterly awful loud comments about her face ( I was far too tired after Christmas with having a full house to argue and very unlike like me to let it go)  I just felt terrible. Silly I know but it spoilt my walk. 

On the up side actually things are ok here. Mum and Dad are now ensconced back in Yorkshire, brother and partner are back at home, #1daughter and boyfriend  are back at respective flats  and ....AND I can finish Christmas jigsaw. Yay! Love them all to bits but peace is lovely too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.