Back in 'snail mode'

Yesterday we came back to St Ives after spending Christmas with Alfie, the Beardie, and Ann's sisters family. I have had all my walks with 8 year old Alfie and I haven't been 'snail like' at all. Even though I am fourteen and a half years old and have osteoarthritis I have been zooming around for the last few days in super, duper, speedy mode.



Today I am back in 'snail mode' and my very lovely owner, Ann, is not happy with me.



First thing this morning I went for a mooch around the field next door to my house. I got let of my lead but I was being really slow and then I had a poo miles away from Ann so she had to walk right across the field to pick it up so I got put back on my lead.



Later in the morning I went for a play on the beach. I walked sensibly on my lead but once I got to the beach I didn't bother doing any running or splish, splash, sploshing. I just trotted along in good dog mode. On the walk home I was walking slower than a baby snail that hadn't learnt to walk. Ann's words, not mine!



This afternoon, on my walk, I was going sooooo slow that I was almost like a snail that hadn't been born. Ann's words, not mine! St Ives is jam packed with people at the moment because apparently we're the 3rd most popular place in the UK to be at New Year. I was going sooooo slow, I was holding people up. We had to walk up a big steep hill to get home and the people behind me felt really sorry for me. They said, 'Ahhh, he's old isn't he? Has he got problems with his hips and back legs? Ann said, 'SHE is fourteen and a half and SHE has got osteoarthritis and SHE has been zooming around for the last few days with an 8 year old Beardie so SHE can go faster than this if SHE wants.'



And then, when we got home I went straight into my bed and started snoring really loudly. …............But my eyes were still open.



#Itsnoteasybeinganoldcollie



PS – On Thursday I'm off to see my very lovely vet, Jonathan, for my annual check up. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.