and through the wire...

By hesscat

Five Years

So the usual warnings came in to say my five year anniversary was coming up and naturally we all get round to thinking what to blip for them. I was lucky this year that Edinburgh's Hogmanay decided to put a show on for me... and 60,000+ other people!

We'd never been before, tut-tut, but it was quite amazing and scrambling up the side of Holyrood Park in unsuitable shoes was worth it. 60,000 people took part in the procession, and it took about 2 hour 15 mins for the last ones to arrive...we had followed them down the Royal Mile to the park but I have no idea where they must have all been waiting!

Beforehand I had intended on blipping the outline of Scotland, and I would have until I realised there was a firework display on Calton Hill and we were in the perfect place to watch it.

The extra includes a couple of views on the Royal Mile and views back to the city and the torch bearers forming the outline of Scotland - you can see a better view here! I didn't manage to scale the crane! If you have not seen any other images of the procession, the extra is worth a look :-)

So a photo a day for five years eh... the majority of days it has been fun although since the summer it has been a struggle, still... the odd day of excitement comes along, and I put that down to life at the moment and my attempts to avoid blipping #myatticconversion which is where I have spent a LOT of my time. In case you hadn't noticed, I have postponed attic activities until Ms H goes back to Uni in a few weeks. In the past month the thought of giving up or taking a year out of blip entered my head but only in the last day or so I ruled that out. I also regularly get behind on everyone else's blips, often binge-browsing to catch up after a few weeks but I am hoping that will return to normal soon. 

When I look back my blips, despite the struggles I may have gone through, I do like and often love them all... although there were a few in my first month I would happily replace!

Whether you've commented on my journal, gave me a heart or star or even just flicked through my journal, I will say thanks, it all helps keep me going... just :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.