black/white/square

By ibl

Ethics

When I learned that Nikon sponsored trophy hunting (think, poor Cecil the lion and his ilk) I sold all my professional gear and bought Fuji. Then, when Fuji began selling riflescopes to hunters in the US (why? why?!) I sold all my gear again.

Now I own a used “consumer” camera which has a higher megapixel count than my Nikon and the same-sized sensor as my Fuji. The Sony A5100 is also one of the least environmentally-abusive cameras ever made, because of its particular manufacturing process.

It can be hard, taking an ethical stance; we often have to make compromises but it isn’t always the case, so don’t give up.

Choose your battles; don’t try and be an ecowarrior about everything, just make a difference wherever you can. If all you can do is turn your central heating down a couple of degrees or shower for five minutes instead of ten, then do that - it will definitely help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.