Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Baptisms

I do quite a few of these, and sadly, I rarely ever see the families again.

These guys are a bit different. I baptised this tiny sleeping chap's big brother a couple of years ago and they do their best to attend church regularly.

We had hoped to have a sunny baptism service outdoors, but ominous rumbles of thunder and brief, but intense and spontaneous rain showers made us change our plans.
Then it became more farcical. The projector stopped working, luckily we had handouts prepared for outdoors. As I entered to begin the service, a little 'un slipped and split his lip on a pew. It was all go!
Eventually, it all went well, but it was a bit touch and go for a while!

I have been spotted playing bricks during church with the 3 year old brother so that mum can have a break and everyone else can hear the preacher. Three year olds are wonderfully energetic and noisy!

If we had a few more of these families, we could possibly turn around the fortunes of the parish.
I shall just keep praying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.