I hope 2019 goes swimmingly for us all

What are the chances, d'you reckon?

Tivoli and I had an interesting walk from Chatham to Rochester, which is really not far at all. Both places have a host of impressive 18th and 19th century buildings reflecting their illustrious history but the 1984 closure of the Chatham Dockyard meant 7,000 people lost their jobs and the unemployment rate rose to 23.5%; the town is fighting back with a host of social enterprises to teach skills and promote community activities, but it still shows. Rochester has the cathedral, the castle, England's 'Largest Secondhand Bookshop' (huge!) and places to buy panini for lunch and it feels quite different.

Both have tidal mudflats, though.


I've completed seven years here today, but missing days means that I'm organising my own sub-red balloon day - in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.