Richard P

By ricky_p

Stoney Cove

Yesterday I got told about a challenge put on by the Northern Fell Runners: Their Winter Choc-O. This was essentially good mountain marathon training if nothing else; 11 controls defined by grid references where the grid reference for the next control is found at the previous control (as pictured). Course was described as 16.5 km ~ 3hours. It took me 2 hours 20. At the last control there was a box of chocolates hidden under a rock with a logbook to sign.

The tubes were fairly easy to spot was was good as sometimes the clues were a little vague. I only had to get my phone out for two controls where the control was in a section where my map printing had not overlapped. This was looking North towards Meal Fell, Lowthwaite Fell and Longlands Fell.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.