Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

...in with the New!

In many ways 2018 wasn’t the greatest year. Globally and nationally we still seem determined to destroy all the good stuff or to look away while we let others destroy it for us. Closer to home, the Booknerd family has experienced illnesses and hospitalisations, a bereavement, a diagnosis, and new challenges of various kinds. Personally I’ve been through hip surgery, ongoing threat of redundancy, and the usual smorgasbord of stresses!

But I’m sure that’s fairly standard for most people and most families. And I also recognise how lucky, and how privileged, I am. In all manner of ways.

I have plenty to be grateful for and to celebrate - including some excellent, supportive and much-loved friends and family members, a job that (at least for now!) feels pretty worthwhile, a roof over my head and food on my table.

Once again, I haven’t had anything like enough time to devote to photography, Blipping or the Blip community, which makes me sad. But, I hope you all know how much I still value your companionship and comments!

Here’s to brighter days ahead for all of us in 2019! Xx

Meanwhile... one last soupçon of miserabilism for 2018. Here are Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and Trembling Bells with a song for all those experiencing a long dark night of the soul, ‘New Year’s Eve’s the Loneliest Night of the Year’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=Ij5VZjrEcl8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.